Hotel Reviews

"Still one of the best hotels in London"

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 Dec, 2016 on tripadvisor

I always try and stay at this hotel The staff are welcoming The rooms are always spotless and you feel in a nice friendly helpful environment where they always make all of their guests special They are a great credit to encouraging people to return to London.

- Paul W

"A wonderful place to stay"

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 27 Nov, 2016 on tripadvisor

This is a truly great hotel, my hotel of choice when I am in London. Its location within a short walking distance of Gloucester Road, South Kensington and Earls Court tube stations makes it easily accessible from any key London arrival destination, and places a host of attractions in terms of restaurants, shopping, museums and parks within ready reach. The visitor to this hotel is assured of a quality stay, from the warmth of the welcome, the comfort of the accommodation, the kindness and attentiveness of the staff, and the excellent breakfast facilities. The atmosphere is embracing, and the entire experience is memorable and value for money. I recommend the Kensington Mercure Hotel wholeheartedly.

- Jim P, travelled with friends

"Good value hotel in great location"

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 24 Nov, 2016 on tripadvisor

We stayed 4 nights and would recommend this hotel. The Natural History Museum and V&A are within walking distance as are several eating options. As someone who doesn't like using the Tube the location was perfect as we could get buses in Cromwell Road or Kensington High Street and on the occasions we needed to use a taxi the receptionist booked a local company for us - drivers were prompt, courteous and friendly and a reasonable cost.
Very welcoming and friendly staff throughout the hotel who responded to requests quickly and cheerfully.
The reception, lobby bar and breakfast room are all modern, bright and very clean.
We had a standard double room which was very small and we did consider asking about an upgrade but decided we could cope for our short stay especially as we didn't plan to spend much time in the room. There was a bath & shower in the bathroom which was a pleasant surprise and little touches such as bottled water, earplugs and a free to use smartphone that demonstrated consideration for their guests which meant far more than the lack of space mattered. I should also say that the hotel website has very clear information about the size and facilities of each room so you can make a very informed choice and despite the room size we still had an ironing board, iron, hairdryer and in room safe.
The breakfast buffet selection was very good and everything we tried was delicious, again lovely staff who were quietly attentive and very hard working.
Check out was quick and efficient and the receptionist was proactive in asking if we needed any transport booked. The overall impression we left with was of a great team of people who all worked together to make us feel very welcome and cared for.

- Jule352 Edinburgh, United Kingdom, travelled as a couple

"Good value, location and quiet"

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 20 Nov, 2016 on tripadvisor

Great location equal distance to the Earl's Court and Gloucester Road Tube stations on the Piccadilly line - the one to Heathrow.
I had a great room - not too cramped as you may expect in London but no room really for luggage. I had no noise from the road but just in case there were ear plugs in the room. I enjoyed the small fruit plate, chocolate and Nespresso -what a pleasant surprise and I suspect it's because I booked using my Accor points.
Staff in the breakfast room were impressive doing a very good job keeping up with the guests. Great breakfast too - all you would want readily available.
Very good front desk experience checking in and helping with a late checkout.
There is a Sainsbury's a few steps away and several good restaurants near the 2 Tube Stations.
In less than one mile you can be at Kensington Palace and Gardens, the Natural History Museum and the Victoria and Albert Museum.

- cke1999 Luxembourg City, Luxembourg, travelled solo

"Fantastic"

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 31 Oct, 2016 on tripadvisor

The staff were amazing! We arrived by car and the reception staff took our bags from the car and when we returned from parking the bags were in our room ready. Calling taxis, in the bar, there wasn’t anything they could have done better. Well done.

- pauldS4154MV, Southampton, United Kingdom, travelled as a couple

"One night stay over"

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 16 OCT, 2016 on tripadvisor

Having stayed here in May this year we decided to use the hotel again as we flew back into London from a trip to Poland.
The welcome was again warm and our room was fine. Yes it was small but for a one-nighter it more than met the need. It is easy to grumble about room size I guess but I don't come to London to stay in my room.
The barman was excellent and always there with a smile. Reception and Breakfast staff also great.
No complaints here...and we will use again I am sure.

- Cammy Kevyy G, travelled as a couple

"Excellent service and comfortable room"

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 13 Sep, 2016 on tripadvisor

Great service from all staff. Kevin went out of his way to make the stay comfortable after a slight hiccup at check-in with no roll a way bed. Imad was also very helpful as we're other staff. The free mobile for use in and out of hotel was excellent. Rooms a bit on small side but beds very comfortable.

- Dilesa Port Macquarie, Australi, travelled as a couple

"More than expected"

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 13 Sep, 2016 on tripadvisor

We have just spent two nights at this hotel before setting off on our European adventure. I didn't have high expectations as it was booked by our travel agent and was very reasonably priced for London accommodation. Check in was seamless and the staff were very welcoming throughout our stay. Our room was very clean and larger than expected, bed nice and comfy, shower and bath were great if not a bit on the small side. A big bonus for me was the pod coffee machine in the room! There were robes and slippers and air conditioning. I would highly recommend this hotel when visiting London!

- BrizyGirl, Brisbane, ravelled as a couple

"Great staff"

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 9 Sep, 2016 on tripadvisor

When you walked into Mercure Kensington you were greeted with a smile from the staff and they were very helpful, making us feel as if we were old friends returning for a visit.
Kevin and Maria were very helpful in every aspect of their position at Mercure Kensington. The rooms although on the small side were kept clean at all times and the breakfast that was included was excellent. We will recommend this hotel to our friends and family without a doubt.

- megsharp06, Albion Park, Australia travelled with friends

"Smart and quiet"

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 9 Sep, 2016 on tripadvisor

Our 2nd visit here. Came back because we like the suttleness of this hotel. Front desk service excellent. Bar staff excellent Room 206 was nice size clean and well catered no noise at all from street. Breakfast is a wonderful way to start your day its fresh hot and enough verities for all. Close enough to walk to underground and shops.

- jenny f, travelled as a couple

"Another lovely stay at Kensington Mercure"

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 8 Sep, 2016 on tripadvisor

I stay here most weeks and am always greeted with a smile. The staff are so helpful, nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are spotless and if you have a rear room, nice and quiet and (unusually for London) can still open a window. The breakfasts are lovely, limited evening menu but plenty of places around to go and eat if you want something else. I really like the location - I walk there from Westminster through St James's, Green and Hyde Park. Very close to good tube lines. Look forward to going back again in a few weeks.

- vrnowell Doncaster, United Kingdom, travelled on business

"Wonderful Staff"

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 8 Sep, 2016 on tripadvisor

This hotel is close to everything. I felt very safe walking around in the evening and during the day. In the bar/restaurant, you will find a man named Kevin who is THE BEST! He will go the extra mile to take care of you either for drinks in the evening or breakfast in the morning. He gave us honest suggestions for places to visit and wonderful service at the hotel.

- Belinda C, Dallas, Texas, travelled with friends

"Excelent Hotel"

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 29 Aug, 2016 on tripadvisor

The hotel is really nice and comfortable. Besides having a rich and varied breakfast, the hotel is located very close to the Earl's Court tube station. In addition, the hotel has a very polite and helpful staff, especially the lady Danielle Silva which demonstrated profound professionalism.

 

- Paulo C, travelled with family

"Family room with free smart phone"

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 26 Aug, 2016 on tripadvisor

Perfect for a family of 4!! Kids loved the daily cookies and hot chocolate left in the room with tea kettle. Great family room for 5 nights and the best was a free smart phone which made touring London a breeze. We even got to call out of the country for free on the smart phone. This feature alone makes the Mercure Kensington an easy choice of where to return to! Friendly staff, great coffee in the lobby starbucks (outdoor patio, too), close to Royal Parks, 2 minute walk to tube, easy arrival via tube from Heathrow. Air conditioning during a hot week visiting London was a bonus as many hotels do not have ac. Will definitely return to room 102! Blackout shades really helped sleep with the jet lag! We appreciated the late check-out, too.

- missey s, Chicago, Illinois, travelled with family

"Fantastic location wonderful breakfasts"

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 26 Aug, 2016 on tripadvisor

This hotel is in a fantastic location. Earls Court Underground five minutes walk away. This enables your gateway to all those attractions and places of interest.
Do purchase an Oyster Card more economical.
Proscovia and Carmen both on reception make one feel at home and are brilliant wishing to help and go that extra mile.
The breakfasts are superb.
In the evening in the bar I had the lasagne.
Best ever had.
This hotel is part of the Accor Group. Strongly suggest one considers their loyality scheme one of the best I have come across.

- 429Happy, Chichester, United Kingdom, travelled solo

Newsletter Sign-up